Submit Close
, IL
Los Angeles Lakers
Los Angeles Lakers News

A Glimpse at the Los Angeles Lakers’ Excellent Roster

In the history of NBA, the Los Angeles Lakers currently ranks as the second most successful team in the league when it comes to overall championship titles. The team’s total of 16 championships only comes second to the Boston Celtics’ overall 17 NBA titles. That is why it is inevitable that the two teams are often associated as the biggest rival of each other. Other well-known tough competitors of the LA Lakers are the Chicago Bulls and the San Antonio Spurs, which hold the third and fourth spots, respectively.

Los Angeles lakersThe excellent combination of highly skilled and dedicated players along with the help of the team’s coaches and heads has maintained the team in the top three spots in the finals of almost each season. In fact, the team only dropped out of the top five teams in the 1991-92 season where they finished at the sixth spot. Several notable players who are listed in the 50 All-Time Greatest NBA Players also came or once joined the LA Lakers roster. They are Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (1975-1989), Elgin Baylor (1958-1971), Wilt Chamberlain (1968-1973), Magic Johnson (1979-1991 and 1996), Karl Malone (2003-2004), Jerry West (1960-1974), and Shaquille O’Neal (1996-2004). Meanwhile, two of the top 10 coaches in NBA also once headed the Lakers in the hard court. They are Phil Jackson (1999-2004 and 2005-2011) and Pat Riley (1981-1990)

The team is currently led by Head Coach Mike D’Antoni and Assistant Coaches Dan D’Antoni, Kurt Rambis, and Johnny Davis. Coach Mark Madsen and Coach Larry Lewis also head the trainings for player development, while Gary Vitti serves as the team’s Athletic Trainer. The LA Lakers roster is now composed of 15 players. Six of them primarily hold the guard position, three of them serve as the forward players, and three of them take the center role. Pau Gasol is the team’s forward-center player while Wesley Johnson and Nick Young serve for the forward-guard position. Elias Harris and Ryan Kelly are the two rookies in the team, while Steve Nash and Kobe Bryant are the players with the longest stay in the LA Lakers roster.

It was in the 2008-09 and 2009-2010 NBA seasons when the LA Lakers last won the finals. Before the 2012-2013 season, the team had a 5-winning streak in the Western Conference, which is only second to the 9 consecutive wins in the same conference they had from season 1981-82 up to season 1989-90. Speaking of winning streak, the Lakers actually holds the most number of consecutive wins that started from November 5, 1971 and ended in January 7, 1972. Runner-ups in the longest winning streak include Miami Heat (#2 with 27 consecutive wins), Houston Rockets (#3 with 22 consecutive wins), and Milwaukee Bucks (#4 with 20 consecutive wins). Also, the LA Lakers currently holds the fifth spot of the same list for having the 19-game winning streak that lasted from February 4, 2000 to Match 13, 2000.

Get to know the latest happenings on this team at where you could also easily purchase your own Los Angeles Lakers tickets. If you are a certified fan of the team, hurry and buy your Los Angeles Lakers tickets as early as possible!

View More >