Submit Close
, IL
Miami Heat
Miami Heat News

Quick Recap of the Last 10 NBA Seasons of the Miami Heat

The last ten seasons of the Miami Heat in the NBA league were indeed a period of great changes and blossoming careers for the team’s roster. Within these years, the team was able to grab the league’s finals title for three times and to rank first in the Southeast Division for a total of 6 times (two times to have a 3-season winning streak). Take a look at the highlights of the team in the hard court from season 2003-04 to season 2012-2013.

In the 2003-04 NBA season, the Miami Heat unfortunately suffered from a 0-7 record during the first games, but still managed to earn an 18-game winning streak, which was the longest in the season. Head Coach Stan Van Gundy became the first Miami Heat Coach to win his first playoff game during his first season to head the team. The 2004-05 season was when Caron Butler, Brian Grant, and Lamar Odom were traded to the LA Lakers for NBA legend Shaquille O’Neal. This was also the season that marked the blossoming of Dwyane Wade’s career along with other 2003 draft picks, Carmello Anthony and LeBron James. It was then in the 2005-06 season when the team finally won the NBA finals title (against Dallas Mavericks at 4-2) with the help of five players in the roster who have All-Star appearances.

Miami HeatThe 2006-07 season then became the team’s third consecutive year to rank first in the Southeast Division of NBA, although they failed to retain the top spot in the finals. O’Neal’s knee injury became a significant disadvantage for the team. He wasn’t able to join the team for 39 games in this season. In the next season, a huge loss happened to the Miami Heat after Eddie Jones, Jason Kopono, Gary Payton, and James Porsey all left the team. Lots of injuries to the roster also happened, including Wade who had to undergo shoulder and knee surgeries that made him miss seven games of the season. In the 2008-09 NBA season, Head Coach Erik Spoelstra head the team in the hard court for the first time. The team was able to swing back to the top 5 teams in the overall list of the season.

Dwyane Wade won the All-Star MVP Award in the 2007-08 season of the league, the season where large trades were made again with the team roster. The team’s President Pat Riley won the EOY Award in the next season where the team finished on the second spot (lost against Dallas Mavericks at 2-4). Injuries and leaves challenged the team, but Coach Riley was able to maximize the players’ potentials and created excellent game plans. Finally, the team once again got the championship title (against Oklahoma City Thunder at 4-1) and then LeBron James won the All-Time MVP award in the 2011-2012 season. The team successfully held the finals title in the 2012-13 season (against San Antonio Spurs at 4-3) where they also earned the NBA’s all-time second longest winning streak with 27 consecutive wins.

Get your Miami Heat tickets now! See for game schedules and also for affordable and easy way to buy Miami Heat tickets online.

View More >